Faculty of Medicine & Allied Medical Sciences

The Faculty of Medicine & Allied Medical Sciences is committed to academic excellence in medical, rehabilitation sciences, vision sciences and nursing education. It caters for the urgent need for community oriented, competent, dedicated and above all caring medical doctors, vision scientists, physical therapists and nurses who through their comprehensive understanding and acquisition of relevant skills can deal with the health problems of the people. The academic year runs from January to December (Classes of new batch 2020-2021 will start from January 2021). The Faculty of Medicine and Allied Medical Sciences is divided into four constituent divisions:

  • Division of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Division of Clinical Sciences
  • Division of Allied Medical Sciences [Nursing, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Paramedical Technologies]
  • Division of Ophthalmic Sciences
The first two divisions, at undergraduate level, offer Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). Furthermore, division of Basic Medical Sciences at postgraduate level offers M. Phil degrees in Pathology (Histopathology, Hematology), Pharmacology, Physiology, Anatomy and Biochemistry. Ph.D in Hematology, Histopathology, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Anatomy. The Division of Clinical Sciences offers MS degree in General Surgery, Gynecology & Obstetrics and Ophthalmology; MD degree in General Medicine, Pediatrics, Gynaecology, Cardiology. Diploma courses in DGO, DO, Dip Card and DLO. The Division of Allied Medical Sciences offers Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Doctor of Physical Therapy and several other programs in paramedical technologies. Besides these, the Division conducts residency program for postgraduate degree (MCPS/FCPS) from College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan. The approved fields of residency are Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Gastroenterology, Nephrology, Gynecology & Obstetrics and Anesthesiology